Friday, August 6th, 2010
The Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) announced the top technology innovators for the year at a gala dinner held in Melbourne to celebrate the 2010 iAwards.

“Events like this one showcase the depth of talent emerging across the Australian industry,” said AIIA CEO Ian Birks.

“We are very pleased to see the record entry numbers in this year’s awards. We have a competitive industry that is making an important contribution to productivity on a national scale, and one that will be critical to positioning Australia in the global economy. Tonight’s award winners are fantastic examples of what ICT can offer our community.”

The iAwards are delivered across 16 different categories reflecting the impact of ICT solutions across every area of business and industry. Major winners in 2010 included Iris Interactive, which took out the Victorian Government Inspiration Award following wins in the eHealth and Industrial Applications categories.

Adrian Di Marco, founder of Technology One, received the prestigious Award for Individual Achievement in ICT through the CSIRO Tony Benson Award.

The premier awards program for the technology industry, the iAwards is the only truly international ICT awards ceremony in Australia. Companies awarded with merit or winning commendations in the 2010 iAwards will now go on to represent the nation at the 2010 Asia Pacific ICT Alliance Awards, competing in Malaysia against the best technology solutions in the region.

“We are pleased to announce that the 2011 iAwards will expand even further,” said Ian Birks. “We are now developing a partnership with the Australian Computer Society to include recognition for professional achievements in addition to enterprise excellence.”

"The iAwards is an outstanding program,” added ACS President Anthony Wong. “The ACS is pleased to reach an agreement with AIIA to establish a prominent and unified Australian ICT Awards Program for both individual and organisational excellence in 2011.”

The iAwards winners in 2010 included:

2010 iAward for Communication

Sponsored by ZDNet Australia

WINNER: Netbox Blue for SafeChat - Web 2.0 communications control (Qld)

MERIT: Soprano Design for SOPRANO Mobile Enterprise Messaging Suite (NSW)

2010 iAward for e-Government

Sponsored by National ICT Australia (NICTA)

WINNER: SEMA Group for My School (Qld)

MERIT: PAN Software for RiskWare - Enterprise Risk Intelligence Software (Vic)

MERIT: Microgenx for Citizen Driven Government (Qld)

2010 iAward for e-Health

Sponsored by Starlight’s IT Fund for Kids

WINNER: Iris Interactive for Iris Pharma Product Suite (NSW)

MERIT: iCare Solutions for iCare Solutions - Aged care electronic health record (Vic)

2010 iAward for e-Inclusions and e-Community

Sponsored by Australian Computer Society

WINNER: Metisc for Metisc mBO WebServices (WA)

MERIT: GaggleHouse and ThoughtWorks for 50and... (SA)

2010 iAward for e-Learning

Sponsored by IBSA

WINNER: NICTA and The University of Sydney for System to Support Embedded Programming Course for the NCSS Challenge (NSW)

2010 iAward for e-Logistics and Supply Chain

Sponsored by MAAT Solutions

WINNER: LogicalTech for Integration Manager (Vic)

MERIT: Peerless Foods for Peerless Foods ERP (Vic)

2010 iAward for Financial Industry Application

Sponsored by KPMG

WINNER: IP Payments for Account Receivables Solution (SIPP) (NSW)

MERIT: Cerebiz for Cerebiz on-demand (SA)

2010 ICT Exporter of the Year

Sponsored by Welsh Assembly Government

WINNER: Zap for Zap Business Intelligence (Qld)

2010 iAward for Industrial Application

Sponsored by Box Hill Institute

WINNER: Sage Technology for SageSURPASS Safe Work Systems (Vic)

MERIT: Iris Interactive for Iris Pharma Product Suite (NSW)

MERIT: Thales Australia for Java Human Machine Interface (JHMI) Engine (Vic)

2010 iAward for Media and Entertainment

Sponsored by Sill Marketing

WINNER: Firemint for Real Racing (Vic)

MERIT: Digislide Holdings Limited for WeSii - a projection and audio system for the Nintendo Wii games console

2010 iAward for Research and Development

Sponsored by IBM

WINNER: CSIRO ICT Centre for iSnet - Smart Sensing & Informatics for Water Quality (Qld)

MERIT: NICTA for InterfereX (ACT)

2010 iAward for Security Application

Sponsored by ZDNet Australia

WINNER: iWebGate for DMZ in a Box (WA)

2010 Start-Up Company iAward

Sponsored by Microsoft Australia

WINNER: BuzzNumbers for Geographic Conversation Mapping (NSW)

MERIT: Figitt for Figitt (NSW)

2010 iAward for Sustainability and Green IT

Sponsored by Fujitsu

WINNER: Thales Australia for FLOWCAT - Managing airspace, capacity and traffic flow in an increasingly congested future (Vic)

MERIT: Change2 & 2and2 for Change2 (NSW)

MERIT: Event Zero for Greentrac (Qld)

2010 iAward for Tools and Infrastructure

Sponsored by Viocorp

WINNER: Cool Door for The Cool Door (Qld)

MERIT: PicNet for Mouse Eye Tracking (NSW)

2010 iAward for Tourism and Hospitality

Sponsored by Opsis

WINNER: e-channel search for DynamicCreative (SA)

2010 Inspiration iAward

Sponsored by Victorian Government

WINNER: Iris Interactive for Iris Pharma Product Suite

2010 CSIRO Tony Benson Award for Individual Achievement in ICT

Sponsored by CSIRO ICT Centre

WINNER: Adrian Di Marco

– ENDS –

For more information, photographs, videos or interview opportunities contact:

Rhett Somers
Australian Information Industry Association
[email protected]
(02) 6281 9413
0411 670 007

Contact Profile


The Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) is the nation’s peak industry body for the technology sector. AIIA sets the strategic direction of the industry, influences public policy and provides members with productivity tools, advisory services and market intelligence to accelerate their business growth.

AIIA member companies employ 100,000 Australians, generate combined annual revenues of more than $40 billion and export more than $2 billion in goods and services each year.
Rhett Somers, Australian Information Industry Association
P: (02) 6281 9413
M: 0411 670 007


IT awards, computing excellence, Australian innovation, IT innovation



More Formats

View QR Code