Friday, August 6th, 2010
LONDON, ENGLAND--(Marketwire) - On the 27th September 2010, Sony Music will be reissuing George Michael's iconic album, Faith, now remastered. It will be available in multiple special formats including Limited Edition Numbered Collectors box set.

When George Michael released his debut solo album Faith in 1987 it instantly caught the imagination of the entire pop world, becoming a milestone in both George Michael's career and in popular culture. It remains a high point in pop music, as well as a measure for any artist wanting to cross musical genres and gather both popular and critical appeal.

The album confirmed George's status as a songwriter of outstanding ability and emotional depth and it propelled him to superstar status equal to that of Elton John, Paul McCartney, Michael Jackson and Madonna. After hitting the Number One spot in the UK, the USA and many other countries across the globe, Faith went on to sell over 20 million albums worldwide. It became the best selling US album of 1988 and was awarded the prestigious Diamond Award for sales of 10 million copies.

Faith rapidly became a record-breaking phenomenon, not only producing six Number One singles but also putting George Michael on the map as the first white male artist to hit Number One on the US R&B chart. Faith features some of George's greatest songs including Father Figure, One More Try, Faith, Kissing A Fool and I Want Your Sex.

The album was written, produced and arranged entirely by George Michael. His artistry has resulted in countless accolades, including a Grammy for "Album of the Year" and three American Music Awards, namely: Favourite Album (Soul/R&B); Favourite Male Vocalist (Soul/R&B) and Favourite Male Vocalist (Pop/Rock). Additional tributes included an MTV Award for Father Figure" (Best Direction) and two Ivor Novello Awards for "Songwriter of the Year" and "International Hit of the Year".

To date, George Michael has sold over 100 million records throughout the world; his music sounds as fresh as it did when Faith was first released in 1987. So much so, in fact, that George Michael's songs - including tracks from Faith - recently featured in the hit US TV show Eli Stone. As well as appearing on the show himself, George's songs were used as a theme for each episode.

Today, George Michael continues to inspire young talent and his influence can be heard amongst many of today's pop and R&B artists. The remastered, reissued Faith will not only delight George's legions of fans across the world, but it will continue to influence a whole new generation of musicians.

George Michael's Faith will be reissued globally by Sony Music. The UK release date is the 27th September.

For more information on George Michael please contact Connie Filippello Publicity on 0207 229 5400 or email [email protected]

Contact Profile

Faith - George Michael

Track listing:

1. Faith

2. Father Figure

3. I Want Your Sex (Parts 1 & 2)

4. One More Try

5. Hard Day

6. Hand To Mouth

7. Look At Your Hands

8. Monkey

9. Kissing A Fool

10. A Last Request (I Want Your Sex Part 3)

All songs written, produced and arranged by George Michael with the exception of Look At Your Hands by George Michael and David Austin.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link:
Connie Filippello Publicity
P: 0207 229 5400


George Michael propelled to superstar status equal to that of Elton John, Paul McCartney, Michael Jackson and Madonna.


More Formats

View QR Code