Tuesday, May 19th, 2015

United Nations Association of Australia


Aussie ingenuity at work to save the environment - a key feature among the finalists in the United Nations Association of Australia World Environment Day Awards 2015, announced today.

An imaginative outback ant eradication program and the restoration of a suburb to save penguins are among the finalists in Australia's top environment awards.

The Awards are held in conjunction with World Environment Day on June 5 and celebrate the innovative and outstanding environmental programs and initiatives across Australia, as well as the critical work of environmental leaders. 

Water will be returned to wetlands on an unprecedented scale in another leading entry. The large-scale installation of windfarms, an island solar energy project and a scheme to halt the extinction of koalas are among other finalists.

This year the Awards will host Kevin Petrini, United Nations Development Programme Regional Climate Policy Specialist for Asia and the Pacific. Other special guests include The Hon. Lily D'Ambrosio, Minister for Industry, Energy and Resources and Christopher Woodthorpe, Director of the United Nations Information Centre.

The World Environment Day Awards 2015 winners will be announced at the Presentation Dinner to be held at the Park Hyatt Hotel in Melbourne, on Friday June 5. This special event will be hosted by Rob Gell, Environmental Entrepreneur and Chairman of UNESCO Western Port Biosphere, with entertainment by Khaled Khalafalla, Comedian.


Clean Energy Award (sponsored by the Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources)

FINALIST:  Southern Cross Resorts, Strata Scheme Solar PV System (NSW)

FINALIST: Toyota Motor Corporation Australia, 500kW Solar Plant (VIC)

FINALIST: Australian Renewable Energy Agency (ACT)

FINALIST:  Acciona Energy, Australian Renewable Energy Developments (VIC)

NSW Office of Environment and Heritage Sustainability Leadership Awards

Small and Medium Organisations

FINALIST: Southern Cross Resorts, Green Futures Program (NSW)

FINALIST: Yarra Valley Estate (VIC)

FINALIST: TerraCycle Australia, TerraCycle Brigade Recycling Programs (NSW)

Large Organisations

FINALIST:  Lend Lease, Leadership in Sustainability Practices (NSW)

FINALIST: Australian Ethical, Australian Ethical Superannuation (NSW)

FINALIST: David Jones Pty Limited (NSW)

Swinburne University of Technology Excellence in Design Award

FINALIST:  Goulburn Murray Water, Hattah Lakes Restoration Project (VIC)

FINALIST:   Royal Botanic Garden & Domain Trust, The Australian PlantBank (NSW)

Hanson’s Green Building Award                          

FINALIST:  Baha’i Centre of Learning For Tasmania, Educational and Training Facility (TAS)

FINALIST:  BVN Architecture and Durbach Block Jaggers, UTS Building 7, Faculty of Science and Graduate School of Health (NSW)

FINALIST:  John Wardle Architects + NADAA In Collaboration, Melbourne School of Design, University of Melbourne (VIC)

FINALIST:  University of Tasmania, IMAS Building: More than just a building (TAS)

FINALIST:  Wollongong City Council, A Green Star is Rising: Wollongong City Council's Ten Year Journey to Achieving Australia's first 5 Star Green Star Performance Rating (NSW)

Habitat Restoration Fund Biodiversity Award

FINALIST:  Phillip Island Nature Parks, Saving Summerland – A Peninsula for the Penguins (VIC)

FINALIST:  Bonorong Wildlife Sanctuary, Bonorong Wildlife Rescue Program (TAS)

FINALIST: Tiwi Land Ranger Program, Tropical Fire Ant Eradication Project (NT)

FINALIST:  Goongerah Environmental Centre, GECO- Citizen Science Program (VIC)

FINALIST: Wombat Forestcare Inc, Wombat Forest Projects (VIC)

Business Awards

      Best Specific Environmental Initiative

FINALIST: Teys Australia, Major Multi Site Renewable Energy Development and Waste Water Upgrade (QLD)

FINALIST:  Western Rock Lobster Council, Western Australian Rock Lobster Fishery: 15 Years of Sustainability (WA)

FINALIST:  Unitywater, Maleny Sewage Treatment Plant and Wetlands (QLD)

FINALIST:  South East Water, Peninsula ECO Project (VIC)

FINALIST: Goulburn Murray Water, Hattah Lakes Restoration Project (VIC)


Excellence in Overall Environmental Management

FINALIST:  Orora Limited, Orora’s Sustainability Framework (VIC)

FINALIST: Australian Ethical, Australian Ethical Superannuation (NSW)

FINALIST:  Ferrero Australia Pty Ltd (NSW) 

FINALIST:  Centennial Park Cemetery Authority (SA)

Environmental School Award

       FINALIST:  Bentleigh West Primary School, Global Water Co-operation (VIC)

FINALIST: Coolbinia Primary School, 360 Tonnes of Impact: Thinking Globally and Acting   Locally (WA)

FINALIST:  Bulimba State School, Young Minds Grow In This Garden (QLD)

Excellence in Sustainable Water Management Award

FINALIST:  The Centre for Macroalgal Resources & Biotechnology, Cleaning Urban, Industrial and Agricultural Water with Macroalgae (QLD)

FINALIST:  Randwick City Council, Stormwater as a resource in Randwick (NSW)

FINALIST:  Goulburn Murray Water, Hattah Lakes Restoration Project (VIC)

FINALIST:  Clearwater, Clearwater Program (VIC)

Individual Award

FINALIST:  Dr Aila Keto AO, Conservation of Australian native forests and their biodiversity (QLD)

FINALIST:  Kelly Howlett, Care for Hedland Environmental Association (WA)

FINALIST:  Col McKenzie, Targeted Control of Crown of Thorns Starfish (QLD)

FINALIST:  Malin Frick, Environmental Educator and Conservationist (NSW)

Local Government Awards

Best Specific Environmental Initiative

FINALIST:  Banyule City Council, Community Stormwater Harvesting Project (VIC)

FINALIST:  City of Campbelltown, Community Owned Solar (SA)

FINALIST:  Randwick City Council, Food Waste into Food Resources (NSW)

FINALIST:  Kangaroo Island Council, Visible Solar Project (SA)

FINALIST:  Tweed Shire Council, Tweed Byron Koala Connections (NSW)

Media Award for Environmental Reporting

FINALIST:  Network Ten, Totally Wild (QLD)

FINALIST:  Donna Page, Matthew Kelly, Damon Cronshaw and Helen Gregory of Newcastle Herald, Toxic Truth (NSW)

FINALIST: Marian Wilkinson, Ali Russell, Mario Christodoulou – ABC TV 4 Corners, The Battle for the Reef (NSW)

 FINALIST: Matthew Kelly – Newcastle Herald, Great Cover Up campaign (NSW)

FINALIST: Jane Bardon and Franco Pistillo, ABC 7.30 NT, Achieving action: Indigenous clans take on miner Glencore (NT)

Sustainability Education Award

FINALIST:  KESAB Environmental Solutions, KESAB Sustainability Education 45 Years (SA)

FINALIST: South Australian Murray-Darling Basin Natural Resources Management Board, River Murray Youth Council and Young Environmental Leaders Program (SA)

FINALIST:  Cool Australia, Learn for Life (VIC)

FINALIST:  Australian Research Institute for Environment and Sustainability - Macquarie University, Habitat Stepping Stones (NSW)

Community Award

FINALIST:  Friends of the Brush-tailed Rock-Wallaby Inc (NSW)

FINALIST:  Yarra Riverkeeper Assocation (VIC)

FINALIST:  Care for Hedland Environmental Association Inc (WA)


Proudly Sponsored by: