Monday, February 23rd, 2015

The 2015 AIDC Stanley Hawes Award was presented tonight by AIDC Co-Chair Karena Slaninka, during the formal opening of NET-WORK-PLAY (AIDC’s annual industry conference and market).

The AIDC Stanley Hawes Award is presented annually to a person or organisation that has made an outstanding contribution to the documentary sector in Australia over a recognized period of time. The Award was first established in 1997 by Film Australia to honour Stanley Hawes as first Producer-in-Chief of the Australian National Film Board and Commonwealth Film Unit. The Award recognises the significant support he gave independent filmmakers in the documentary sector. AIDC continues the tradition of this important Award, which includes a $5,000 cash prize. Previous winners of the award include Chris Hilton, The Documentary Australia Foundation, Julia Overton, Rachel Perkins, Tom Zubrycki, Bob Connolly, David Bradbury, Michael Gassing, John Hughes, Caama, Robin Hughes, Steward Young, Pat Fisk and John Heyer.

The 2015 Stanley Hawes Award goes to Pauline Clague for her extensive work in championing and producing the works of Australia’s emerging and Indigenous filmmakers. Pauline co-ran her company Core Films for twenty years helping to develop and mentor other filmmakers and their voices. Pauline was the Indigenous training officer at the Australian Film, Television and Radio School from 2009 to 2013, developing more than 35 courses around Australia and training 650 Indigenous people in Film, Television and Radio. During this time she was also a board member for Arts Law Centre of Australia. She is a strong advocate for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Artists, especially in the emerging areas.

Since being at NITV Pauline has created a major landmark initiative, Our Stories, Our Way, Everyday which works with 60 Indigenous companies around Australia to produce 120 documentaries from Remote, Regional and Emerging Filmmakers each year. This is currently in its third series. She will complete her time as Commissioning Editor at NITV in March.

During the award presentation Karena Slaninka said, “The AIDC Board is delighted this year to honour a true force of nature, a filmmaker without parallel who has been a tireless advocate, mentor and champion of indigenous filmmakers and filmmaking”.

On accepting her Award, Pauline said, “I have always felt that we in Australia have important voices to share and that we need to be bold and have the chance to express ourselves with many voices. I have been very privileged to share stories that make me stand tall. I thank AIDC and the community of Filmmakers for this honour.”

NET-WORK-PLAY is presented by AIDC Ltd, a 27-year-old peak organisation for the factual film and television industries. AIDC’s annual events have a strong reputation for bringing the Australian and international factual content industry together for an extensive conference program and marketplace. AIDC defines ‘content’ as television and streaming product, with an emphasis on documentary, specialist factual, unscripted programs and factual entertainment.

NET-WORK-PLAY runs 23-25 February at the Adelaide Convention Centre, South Australia. For further information about NET-WORK-PLAY contact Spencer Scholz on +61 8

7324 9987 or [email protected]