Wednesday, October 8th, 2014

The Port Phillip EcoCentre has won the state's top honour in the Premier's Sustainability Awards - the Premier's Recognition Award - for its program 'Life Support for the Bay'.

Stan Krpan, CEO of Sustainability Victoria, describes the Port Phillip EcoCentre as a 'marvellous role model, highlighting the power of community involvement and relationship building.'

"The Port Phillip EcoCentre was an inspirational entry in this year's Premier's Sustainability Awards, focussing on littering around Port Phillip Bay - a large scale and pervasive problem that anyone can do something about," he said.

The project won the new Cleaner Yarra and Bay category and went on to win the top honour of the night.

"This year we had the largest amount of entries in the awards' history - they are among the most diverse and interesting we've seen," says Mr Krpan.

"All of our winners and finalists are Victoria's sustainability champions and I congratulate them all."

Earthco Projects Pty Ltd won the Premier's Regional Recognition Award for collaborative industry and council development of their road stabilising agent, PolyCom Stabilising Aid.

Winners of the Premier’s Sustainability Awards 2014 are:

A selection of photographs from the awards dinner are included with this release.  If you require full caption information or photographs of specific winners please contact Adam Sawell on 0401 096 507 or Cath Newell on 0423 587 478.


File Library

Contact Profile

Sustainability Victoria

Sustainability Victoria is a Victorian government statutory authority delivering programs on integrated waste management and resource efficiency. Established under the Sustainability Victoria Act 2005, SV's board is appointed by the Minister for Environment and Climate Change.  SV has obligations under the Environment Protection Act 1970 for state-wide waste management strategy and planning, as well as managing the Sustainability Fund.

The Premier's Sustainability Awards are managed by Sustainability Victoria on behalf of the Victorian Government and the Premier of Victoria.

Adam Sawell
M: +61 (0)401 096 507

Catherine Newell

P: 0423 587 478


Premier's Sustainability Awards 2014, Victoria, Australia, Sustainability Victoria, sustainability, community, education, environmental protection, infrastructure and buildings, innovative products or services, large business, SME, tourism




More Formats

View QR Code