Wednesday, October 2nd, 2013

Journalists win praise in United Nations Awards

Remarkable courage has been shown by Australian journalists and filmmakers by going into some of the world’s most dangerous places, the executive director of the United Nations Association of Australia Victorian Division, Patricia Collett, said today. She was announcing the finalists in the annual Media Awards, to be presented by the association later this month. “As well getting into these frightening hotspots, however, the entrants showed enormous skill and compassion in examining exceedingly sensitive issues, such as sex among older people and female genital mutilation,” Ms Collett said. Reporters and film crews also uncovered the hidden story of the rape of young men in jail, the Australian-led destruction of vast areas of Indonesian rainforest and the fight by traditional owners in remote area to stop fracking.

“Reporters risked their lives in remote parts of Afghanistan to find what is really happening, and did the same in West Papua to reveal how children are abducted for indoctrination in Muslim schools in Indonesia, she said.“They also brought us inspirational and uplifting stories.”As well, an in-depth investigation into institutional sex abuse led to a Government inquiry, and there was a sense of shock at revelations about the appalling level of neglect in aged care homes. “We learn about torture camps through a daring venture into the extremely frightening country of Yemen, about the rift between Sunnis and Shia in Sydney and the dreadful fact that most people across the globe are denied adequate pain relief before death.”

Ms Collett said programs spotlighted aspects of racism in Australia and told how we could do better. “The tragedies of boat people were compellingly covered, whether by cameras actually on a sinking boat or interviews with those waiting to come here. “We find out about donor-conceived people’s search for their fathers, the health of our Afghanistan war veterans and are confronted by the overwhelming tide of refugees from Syria. "She said the award entries show Australian journalism and documentary-making has remarkable maturity and great ability, inspiring viewers and readers while showing dedication and compassion in presenting often uncomfortable facts and images."

The Media Awards began as a national program in 1978. They promote understanding and awareness about humanitarian and social justice issues by recognising those in the Australian media who stimulate public awareness and influence policy change. The major award categories are best print, radio, photojournalism, online and television. Awards are also given in special categories which promote specific social justice issues including aboriginal reconciliation, multicultural issues, women’s rights and issues, children’s rights and issues and positive images of the older person.

Winners will be announced at the Awards Presentation Dinner to be held at the Grand Hyatt Melbourne on Friday 18 October, hosted by Michael Rowland, ABC News Breakfast.

For further details please contact:

Patricia Collett, Executive Director, UNAA Victoria

Ph: (03) 96707878 || Mob: 0418 544 315 || Email: [email protected] II Website:


FINALISTS – Major Categories

Best Print


  • Steve Pennells, The West Australian – ‘The Syrian Crisis’
  • Kim Quinlan, The Courier Ballarat – ‘It’s Up To Us’
  • Farrah Tomazin, Sunday Age – ‘Their Right to Know’


  • Michael Bachelard, Fairfax Media – ‘They’re Taking Our Children’
  • Paul McGeough and Kate Geraghty, Fairfax Media – ‘Afghanistan - Uncensored’
  • Ruth Pollard, The Sydney Morning Herald – ‘Price of Life’

Best Television (Sponsored by SBS)


  • Ryan Emery, National Indigenous TV – ‘WA Youth Justice Reinvestment’
  • Matt Moran, Network Ten – ‘Wounded Warriors’
  • Steve Pennells and Paul Walker, Seven Network – ‘The Syrian Crisis’
  • Luke Waters, SBS World News – ‘Kids In The Camps’

Current Affairs

  • Patrick Abboud, SBS – ‘Syrian Crisis’
  • Margot O’Neill, ABC TV – ‘Aged Care Crisis’
  • David O’Shea and Geoff Parish, SBS TV – ‘Crunch Time’
  • Suzanne Smith, Tony Jones, John Bruce, Michael Doyle and Brant Cumming, ABC TV Lateline – ‘The Tipping Point; a serving officer breaks ranks on clerical abuse cover up’


  • Sabour Bradley, John Molloy and Daniel Henenberg, Head First Media – ‘The Wrong Body’
  • Sue Collins and Mike Hill, Moonshine Movies – ‘Life Before Death’
  • Yalda Hakim, Warwick Harrington, Nawal Al-Magafi and Peter Murtaugh, BBC World News – ‘Understanding Yemen: Torture, Trauma and Al-Qaeda’




  • Stefan Armbruster, SBS World News Australia Radio – ‘TB crisis on Australia’s doorstep’
  • Ryan Emery, SBS – ‘WA Youth Justice Reinvestment’
  • Felicity Ogilvie, ABC News – ‘Pontville Children’


  • Sarah Dingle, ABC – ‘The Family Trap’
  • Jemima Garrett, Chris Bullock and Linda McGuiness, ABC Radio National – ‘PNG Land Scandal’
  • Alex Mann, Michael Atkin and Sophie McNeill, ABC – ‘A 17 Year Old Problem’



  • Alex Ellinghausen, Fairfax Media – ‘Asylum seekers waiting in Indonesia’
  • Kate Geraghty, The Sydney Morning Herald – ‘Afghanistan Uncensored’
  • Steve Pennells, The West Australian – ‘The Syrian crisis’


  • Peter Hylands and Andrea Hylands, Creative Cowboy Films – 'Creative Cowboy Website' 
  • Paul McGeough and Kate Geraghty, Fairfax Media – ‘Afghanistan - Uncensored’
  • Sally Sara, Matthew Liddy and Ben Spraggon, ABC – ‘Mama Asia’

FINALISTS – Special Award Categories

Promotion of Aboriginal Reconciliation (Sponsored by the Australian Government)

  • Stefan Armbruster, SBS World News Australia Radio – ‘Day of Mourning 1938’
  • Jane Bardon, ABC News Darwin – ‘Traditional owners fight Arnhem Land fracking plan’
  • Chris Johnston, Fairfax Media – ‘Going Home - the Great Aboriginal Dream’


Promotion of Positive Images of the Older Person

  • Jenny Brockie, Fanou Filali and Kym Middleton, SBS TV Insight – ‘Good Old Sex’
  • Jeannette Francis, SBS – ‘Prison Letters’
  • Felicity Ogilvie, ABC News – ‘Freedom Centre’


Increasing Awareness and Understanding of Women’s Rights and Issues (Sponsored by the Department of Human Services, Office of Women's Affairs )

  • Jenny Brockie, Fanou Filali, Saber Baluch and Joel Tozer, SBS TV Insight – ‘Clear Cut’
  • Zoe Daniel, Simi Chakrabarti, Mavourneen Dineen, David Leland and Nicholas Brenner, ABC – ‘India on Trial’
  • Manpreet Singh and Sacha Payne, SBS – ‘The Enemy Within’

Increasing Awareness and Understanding of Children’s Rights and Issues

  • Matt Brown, Mathew Marsic and Garth Thomas, ABC – ‘Syria – Ibrahim’s War'
  • Sarah Ferguson, Mary Fallon and Greg Wilesmith, ABC - ‘Growing Up Poor’
  • Suzanne Smith, Tony Jones, John Bruce, Michael Doyle, Brant Cumming, Chris Schembri, Emma Alberici, Matt Carney, Steve Cannane and Sashka Koloff, ABC TV Lateline – ‘Clerical Abuse Cover Up - an in depth investigative series on the issue of institutional child sex abuse’

Promotion of Multicultural Issues (Sponsored by the Australian Multicultural Foundation and the Victorian Multicultural Foundation)

  • Jenny Brockie, Fanou Filali and Hannah Meagher, SBS TV Insight – ‘Syria’
  • Sharon Mascall-Dare, ABC/BBC - ‘Anzac’
  • Monique Schafter, ABC 7.30 – ‘From High Seas to HSC’
  • Tim Soutphommasane and Amanda Smith, ABC Radio National - ‘Mongrel Nation

File Library

Contact Profile

Patricia Collett

P: 03 9670 7878
M: 0418 544 315


Media, Awards, UN, Finalist



More Formats

View QR Code