Tuesday, September 17th, 2013

Minister for Environment and Climate Change Ryan Smith has announced the 20 finalists in the 2013 Premier’s Sustainability Awards.

Now in their 11th year, the Premier’s Sustainability Awards celebrate the efficient use of water, resources and energy, better waste management and recycling practices and recognise practical community action to improve the environment.

The Minister’s media release can be viewed here.

CEO of Sustainability Victoria, Stan Krpan, today congratulated the 20 finalists in this year’s Premier’s Sustainability Awards, describing them as ‘remarkable Victorians’.

“This year’s finalists are really diverse and include an internationally recognised sustainable high school, a climate watch mobile phone app which is fostering the development of citizen scientists and some world class buildings,” he said.

Winners will be awarded in seven categories.  In addition to these awards, the Premier will personally select two overall winners: the Premier’s Recognition Award and the Premier’s Regional Recognition Award.

Finalists in the Premier’s Sustainability Awards 2013 are:

Innovative Products or Services Category

Department of Environment and Primary Industries and Department of Education and Early Childhood Development - Schools Water Efficiency Program.

Earthco Projects Pty Ltd - Changing Victoria's unsealed road network to an asset rather than a liability by using a PolyCom Stabilising Aid

ModWood Technologies Pty Ltd - Flame Shield® (a wood-plastic composite designed and manufactured in Victoria)

Infrastructure and Buildings Category

Glen Eira City Council – Glen Eira Sports & Aquatic Centre

RMIT University – RMIT Swanston Academic Building

Surf Coast Shire – Surf Coast Shire Community Civic Precinct

Environmental Protection Category

Mallee Catchment Management Authority – Restoring the balance – the Hattah Lakes environmental watering program

Phillip Island Nature Parks – Saving Summerland – A Peninsula for penguins

Yarra Ranges Council – HabitAT School (protecting local wildlife)

Community Category

Earthwatch Institute Australia – ClimateWatch (technology to enable citizen science)

Moonee Valley City Council and Wingate Avenue Community Centre – Ascot Vale Housing Estate Household Recycling Project

St Kilda Mums – St Kilda Mums (re-using and re-cycling baby and children's products)

Education Category

Bentleigh Secondary College – Bentleigh Secondary College: A Very Sustainable School

Monash Sustainability Institute – Embedding sustainability in first year engineering

The Patch Primary School – The Patch Primary School Learning Landscape

Small and Medium Enterprises Category

GWMWater – Recycling redundant infrastructure for multiple benefits

Rae-Line Pty Ltd – Environmental Sustainability Initiatives in Manufacturing.

Large Business Category

Cabrini – Utilising ISO 14001 Certification across a large Hospital Network

Mirvac Group – Victorian portfolio

Victoria Carpets – Energy and Emissions Reduction: Bendigo Plant

Winners will be announced at the awards night on Tuesday 22 October, at Peninsular Shed A, Shed 14, Central Pier, 161 Harbour Esplanade, Docklands.  Tickets are available online from now until Monday 14 October.

Full finalist profiles, images and awards night information are now available at www.sustainabilityawards.vic.gov.au.

Contact Profile

Catherine Newell

P: 0423 587 478
W: www.sustainabilityawards.vic.gov.au

Erin Reeve

P: 0437 309 891


Sustainability Victoria, Premier's Sustainability Awards, sustainability, environment, awards, business, small business, government, community, tourism, education, infrastructure & buildings, environmental protection, Victoria




More Formats

View QR Code