Tuesday, May 21st, 2013

Schools, large and small businesses, journalists, local councils and community groups are among the finalists in this year’s United Nations Association of Australia World Environment Day Awards, announced today.

The awards mark World Environment Day on 5 June and celebrate innovative and outstanding environmental programs and initiatives across Australia, as well as the critical work of environmental leaders.

The theme for the World Environment Day Awards in 2013 focuses attention on the UNEP campaign Think.Eat.Save which encourages consumers to reduce their foodprint. Worldwide, about one-third of all food produced, worth around US$1 trillion, gets lost or wasted in food production and consumption systems. Food loss occurs mostly at the production stages – harvesting, processing and distribution – while food waste typically takes place at the retailer and consumer end of the food-supply chain.

Think.Eat.Save. aims to accelerate action and provide a global vision and information-sharing portal (www.thinkeatsave.org) for the many and diverse initiatives currently underway around the world.

This year’s World Environment Award winners will be announced at the Presentation Dinner to be held at the Park Hyatt Melbourne on Friday 7 June. This gala event will be hosted by Rob Gell, Environmental Entrepreneur and Chairman of UNESCO Western Port Biosphere, with entertainment by Bryan Dawe, Political Satirist.


Prime Minister’s Environmentalist of the Year Award

•Lee-Scott Virtue, Kimberley Toad Busters (WA)

•Don Henry, Australian Conservation Foundation (VIC)

•Peter Dann, Phillip Island Nature Parks Victoria (VIC)

•David Lindenmayer, Australian National University (ACT)

•John Weigel, Devil Ark (NSW)

Prime Minister’s Young Environmentalist of the Year Award

•Amelia Telford, Australian Youth Climate Coalition (VIC)

•Gemma Borgo-Caratti, Australian Youth Climate Coalition (VIC)

•Emma Hamilton-Foster, CBI (WA)

•Lucy Manne & Kirsty Albion, Australian Youth Climate Coalition (VIC)

NSW Office of Environment and Heritage Sustainability Leadership Awards

-Small and Medium Organisations

•Life Without Barriers, Caring for People: caring for place (TAS)

•Sydney Markets Limited (NSW)

-Large Organisations

•Kempsey Bypass Alliance (NSW)

•Teachers Mutual Bank, Profit with a Purpose (NSW)

Swinburne University of Sustainable Product Design Award

Andrew Maynard, Zero Waste Table (VIC)

•Mark Paul - The Greenwall Company, The EcoPillow, (NSW)

•Hughie Products Pty Ltd, The Hughie Sink (QLD)

•Brightgreen, DR700 (VIC)

Virgin Australia Community Award

•Trees For Life, Bush for Life (SA)

•Kimberley Toad Busters, Toad Busting, Indigenous (WA)

•OzHarvest (NSW)

Business Awards

-Best Specific Environmental Initiative

•Saffron Restaurant (NT)

•Zoos Victoria, Becoming Carbon Neutral (VIC)

•Synergetics Environmental Engineering, Positive Energy Places (VIC)

-Excellence in Overall Environmental Management

•Australian Ecosystems, Brendan Condon (VIC)

•Nature's Organics, Inspiring Change (VIC)

Biodiversity Award

•Condamine Alliance, The Fish Are Back (QLD)

•Cassinia Environmental, Biolinks and Carbon Sinks (VIC)

•Bentleigh West Primary School, Locals Creating Wildlife Passages (VIC)

•Phillip Island Nature Parks (VIC)

•Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens, SeedSafe (TAS)

Environmental School Award

•Gordonvale State School, Excelsior: A whole community approach to sustainability (QLD)

•Coolbinia Primary School, 50 Tonne Plan: Whole Systems Thinking Action (WA)

•Bentleigh West Primary School, Locals Creating Wildlife Passages (VIC)

Excellence in Sustainable Water Management Award

•Camerons Nursery, Reduce, Recycle, Reuse Water Saving Project (NSW)

•Mallee Catchment Management Authority, Restoring Life to the Hattah Lakes system (VIC)

•Melbourne Cricket Club and Tenix, Yarra Park Water Recycling Facility (VIC)

Green Building Award

•Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp, Tyree Energy Technologies Building, UNSW (NSW)

•Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations and CIMB Trust Capital through CBRE, 50 Marcus Clark Street, Canberra -Sustainable, Functional and Commercially Sound (ACT)

•Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp, Commonwealth Bank, Lend Lease, Darling Quarter, Commonwealth Bank Place (NSW)

Local Government Awards

-Best Specific Environmental Initiative

•City of Yarra, Zero Carbon: Victoria’s First Accredited Carbon Neutral Council (VIC)

•Alice Springs Town Council, Alice Solar City (NT)

•City of Darwin, City of Darwin [email protected] (NT)

•Hume City Council, Hume Environmental Champions Program (VIC)

•City of Melbourne, Urban Landscape Adaptation (VIC)

-Excellence in Overall Environmental Management

•Waverly Council, Overall environmental management and sustainability leadership (NSW)

•Hunter Councils Inc, Hunter and Central Coast Regional Environmental Management Strategy (NSW)

•City Of Subiaco, Sustainable Subiaco - Creating a Culture of Conservation and Environmental Best Practise (WA)

•City of Yarra, Yarra Environment Strategy 2008-2012: From Good to Great (VIC)

Media Award for Environmental Reporting

•The Global Mail, Investigating the Woodside/James Price Point Gas Hub Project (NSW)

•The Mercury Newspaper/Bookend Trust, Coastwatchers partnership (TAS)

•Sarah Clarke, ABC TV and Radio, Australia’s Changing Climate (NSW)

Sustainability Education Award

•Southern New England Landcare, Frog Dreaming - People, Place, Storytelling (NSW)

•EDO NSW, Mining Law in New South Wales: A guide for the community (NSW)

•Australian Youth Climate Coalition, Start the Switch (VIC)

•Hume City Council, Environmental Champions Program (VIC)

•Meat & Livestock Australia, Target 100 (NSW)

File Library

Contact Profile


Patricia Collett
P: 03 9670 7878
W: www.unaavictoria.org.au


world environment day, UN



More Formats

View QR Code