Saturday, February 13th, 2010
NOMINATIONS are now open for the WA Citizen of the Year Awards – and Bayswater Mayor Terry Kenyon is encouraging people across the City of Bayswater to get involved.

First held in 1972, the awards acknowledge significant and enduring contributions of outstanding citizens from all fields of endeavour and dedicated service organisations.

Categories include arts, culture and entertainment, community service, industry and commerce, the professions, sport, youth, the Gold Swan Award, Governor's Award for Regional Development, Indigenous Leadership Award and Youth Arts Award.

“I’m always amazed at the amount of sheer talent, dedication and commitment when I’m out and about in the City of Bayswater and it suburbs, whether it’s at schools, workplaces or a major community event,” Mayor Kenyon said.

“It’s important this enthusiasm for life does not go unnoticed and I’m pleased we have the WA Citizen of the Year Awards to recognise people who embrace a passion for something.

“This is a chance to recognise local people who have made a difference to community life in the City of Bayswater because a positive contribution at the grassroots level is what makes this State so special.

“There is a tremendous amount of talented people in our community who deserve to be acknowledged for their contribution and this is an ideal opportunity to put someone’s name forward.

“The WA Citizen of the Year Awards are one of the greatest honours a West Australian can receive as public recognition of their contribution to the advancement of the State and its people.”

To nominate a person or organisation, go to and download a form and selection criteria. Nominations close on April 1.

Contact Profile

City of Bayswater

The City of Bayswater is a local government area in the inner north-eastern suburbs of the West Australian capital city of Perth, about 9km north-east of Perth's CBD, and includes the suburbs of Bayswater, Beford, Embleton, Maylands, Morley and Noranda and parts of Mount Lawley and Dianella. It covers an area of 32.8 square kilometres and has a population of 55,801.

Originally, the Bayswater Road District was created in 1897 and, in 1961, it became a shire before attaining City status in 1983. The City of Bayswater is divided into four wards and represented by 11 councillors with the Mayor elected from among the councillors.

Recent developments in the City of Bayswater include the opening of the Galleria shopping centre in 1994, on the site of the old Boans building that burnt down in 1986. Morley is now the largest commercial district outside of Perth and Fremantle and further growth is expected.
Chris Thomas
P: (08) 9272 0923


citizen award western australia WA bayswater art arts culture music community service industry commerce professional sport youth regions regional indigenous Aboriginal leadership



More Formats

View QR Code