Tuesday, March 12th, 2013

Individuals are invited to nominate outstanding community members for the Western Australian of the Year Awards. The awards recognise the significant contributions of highachieving Western Australians. 


Western Australians are invited to nominate outstanding community members for the Western Australian of the Year Awards. Six category winners and one overall winner will be announced in June this year, to recognise the significant contributions of high achieving Western Australians.

Previously WA Citizen of the Year Awards, the celebration was renamed last year to coincide with the renaming of Foundation Day to WA Day. Celebrate WA, one of the State’s premier leadership organisations, organises the Awards each year. Designed to identify the achievements of Western Australians, from a broad cross section of the community, the six categories are:

• Arts and Culture,

• Business and Professions,

• Community,

• Indigenous,

• Sport, and

• Youth.

Nominations close on Wednesday 13 March, with winners announced at a Gala Dinner to be held on Saturday, 1 June 2013 at Crown Perth.

Each year, an overall winner is selected from the individual category winners to be named Western Australian of the Year. This person is then automatically submitted into the Australian of the Year Awards.

A long list of respected individuals have joined the honour role since 1973, including category winners: Professor Fiona Stanley AC, Michael Chaney AO, The Hon Chief Justice Wayne Martin AC QC, George Jones AM, John Longley AM, Dean Alston, Curtis Taylor, Adam Gilchrist and Professor William Carroll. Professor Kim Scott was named Western Australian of the Year in 2012.

Celebrate WA Chairman, John Poynton AM said the Awards are a wonderful opportunity to acknowledge the contribution extraordinary people are making to the State.

“There are many people making a significant contribution to communities across Western Australia; raising our potential and increasing our profile both nationally and internationally.

“It’s an exciting time to be a Western Australian and I’m proud to be part of such an important celebration, which recognises homegrown talent and dedication.

“If you know someone who is having an impact on Western Australia, I encourage you to submit a nomination this year,” he said.

Nominations can be made online at www.celebratewa.com.au

Celebrate WA is supported by the State Government and LotteryWest and a range of major corporate and media partners including BHP Billiton, Hawaiian, Channel 7 Perth, The West Australian and Austereo.

Contact Profile

Celebrate WA

As the State’s premier leadership organisation Celebrate WA champions all that is positive about Western Australia and its people. It seeks to engage West Australians in a range of celebratory activities that promote and recognise excellence in our people, lifestyle, culture and potential. Celebrate WA is responsible for the planning and implementation of key activities around this year’s WA Day long weekend from 1-3 June 2013, including the Western Australian of the Year Awards, State of the Art (SOTA) Music Festival and various other community events across the State.
Anthony Hasluck
P: 08 9380 0700
M: 0438 522 194
W: www.celebratewa.com.au

Christie Clements-Shepherd

P: 08 9380 0700
M: 0403 984 836


Western Australian of the Year Awards



More Formats

View QR Code