Saturday, August 11th, 2012
ICT leaders and innovators across 25 categories were honoured at the Annual national iAwards ceremony held in Melbourne last night.

With special guests Senator Stephen Conroy, Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate and The Minister for Broadband Communications and the Digital Economy, and Gordon Rich-Phillips, Victorian Minister for Technology, the gala event attracted some 800 industry figures from across the country.

Now in its 18th year, the iAwards is Australia's leading technology awards program recognising the most innovative companies and leading individuals across 25 categories. As well as being Australia’s most prestigious and significant ICT awards program, the iAwards offer national winners and merit recipients the opportunity to go on to represent Australia against the best innovators in the Asia-Pacific ICT industry who come together at the APICTA Awards.

AIIA CEO, Suzanne Campbell, said the record number of nominations across all categories of the iAwards this year confirmed it as the pre-eminent event in Australia’s ICT industry. “The recognition of both nominees and winners by their peers and industry is unparalleled and leads to both business and career opportunities. The range of innovations and demonstration of innovative thinking shows just how strong the ICT industry is in Australia and how we can compete on the world stage,” Ms Campbell said.

Chair of the Pearcey Foundation, Wayne Fitzsimmons, said the quality of 2012 iAwards nominations was exceptional.

“Choosing winners from these nominations was a very difficult task but those selected represent the most outstanding innovating companies with world class R&D in the Australian ICT industry today”. Mr Fitzsimmons said. “They clearly demonstrate that our ICT sector here in Australia is a world leader and one which is increasingly being seen as highly innovative and globally competitive”. ACS Chief Executive, Alan Patterson, said winners of iAwards had presented a wide range of innovative developments which had social and economic benefits for all of Australia, benefits which could also extend internationally. “The ICT industry in Australia is the driver for our continuing economic strength and growth. The innovations being displayed by these iAwards winners not only helps business and industry to remain competitive and grow but also help to improve the lifestyle and social wellbeing of all Australians,” he said.

Contact Profile

the iAwards

Over 18 years, the iAwards has become the premier technology awards in Australia delivering the most comprehensive awards program in the technology industry today. Since 2011 the iAwards are open to both the companies and leading professionals at the cutting edge of technology innovation. The iAwards are judged by industry, for industry and provide achievements with public recognition across industry, government, community and beyond. They are strongly focused on promoting essential relationships between the ICT industry and vertical business sectors to promote the value of our industry.

About the ACS
The Australian Computer Society (ACS) is the recognised professional association for those working in Information and Communications Technology, seeking to raise the standing of ICT professionals and represent their views to government, industry and the community. A member of the Australian Council of Professions, the ACS is the guardian of professional ethics and standards in the ICT sector, committed to ensuring the beneficial use of ICT for all Australians. It provides both members and non-members with opportunities for professional education, networking and certification, as well as enabling them to contribute to the development of their profession.

About AIIA
The Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) is the nation’s peak industry body for the technology sector. AIIA sets the strategic direction of the industry, influences public policy and provides members with productivity tools, advisory services and market intelligence to accelerate their business growth. AIIA member organisations account for approximately half of the 426,100 people employed in ICT occupations and almost $20 billion in annual revenue for Australia. Our members are made up of small, medium, national and multi-national companies whose experience is global as well as spanning all states and territories.

About the Pearcey Foundation

Founded in 1998 in memory of Dr Trevor Pearcey, who built Australia’s first and the world’s fourth programmable electronic digital computer, CSIRAC, in Sydney in 1949, the foundation is a group of concerned individuals fostering the aims and achievements of the Australian ICT industry. Celebrating its 62nd anniversary this year, CSIRAC is the oldest surviving computer in the world. The Pearcey Foundation’s objective is to reinforce the recognition, knowledge and appreciation of Australia’s ongoing contribution to the development and growth of our ICT professions, research and industry. About APICTA The Asia Pacific ICT Awards (APICTA) is an international awards program that aims to increase ICT awareness in the community and assist in bridging the digital divide. By providing networking and product benchmarking opportunities to ICT innovators and entrepreneurs in the region, the program is designed to stimulate ICT innovation and creativity, promote economic and trade relations and facilitate technology transfer. Participants of the awards program comprise members of the APICTA Alliance guided by the Framework of Cooperation identifying how member-economies can work together in support of the Awards Program as well as other programs that foster development and growth of the ICT industry in the region. Australia has enjoyed great success at the APICTA Awards in recent years.

Contact details

Media Enquiries: Peter Waterman 0419 260 827 [email protected]
Program Enquiries: iAwards Team 1300 665 145 [email protected]
Peter Waterman
P: 0419 260 827


IT awards, Australian awards, AIIA, iawards



More Formats

View QR Code