Wednesday, August 8th, 2012
Senator the Hon. Stephen Conroy, Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate, The Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy and The Hon Gordon Rich-Phillips MLC Minister for Technology State Government of Victoria will be Guests of Honour at the National iAwards presentations & Gala Dinner

Date: Thursday August 9, 2012 Awards presentations: 4.30pm - 6pm
Innovation Showcase: 6pm - 7.15pm
Gala Dinner & further presentations: 7.15pm onwards
Venue: Palladium at Crown, 8 Whiteman Street, Melbourne

MC is Oscar winning animation director and writer Adam Elliot, while 2012 Australia’s Got Talent winner, Andrew DeSilva and premier party band Baker Boys provide entertainment.


Now in its 18th year, the iAwards is Australia’s premier technology awards program acknowledging the work of the most innovative companies and leading individuals across 25 categories.

The 2012 iAwards will select outstanding innovators and achievers across a range of domains including: Society, Education, Industry and Consumer in the Company/Group Categories.

Individual Categories recognise the achievement of outstanding individuals including the CIO, ICT Professional, ICT Woman and ICT Educator of the Year.

The iAwards also celebrates Australia's entrepreneurial spirit with a number of pioneer awards including Start-up, Benson Entrepreneur, Pearcey Medal and Hall of Fame and Inspiration Award.

National finalists are derived from the winners from round one judging for the State and territory iAwards. All state winners are competing against each other for the National iAwards which will be announced this Thursday, 9 August 2012 at a gala event.

Following that, many of the 2012 National iAwards winners and merit recipients will then go on to represent Australia against the best innovators in the Asia-Pacific ICT industry who come together at the APICTA Awards.

Awards are presented in the categories of:

Society Domain

• e-Government

• e-Inclusion & e-Community

• Sustainability & Green IT

Education Domain

• e-Learning

• Research & Development

• Secondary Student

• Tertiary Student

Industry Domain

• Industrial Application

• Security Application

• Financial Application

• e-Logistics & Supply Chain

• Tools & Infrastructure

• Export Achievement

Consumer Domain

• New Media & Entertainment

• Tourism & Hospitality

• Communication

• e-Health


Media Enquiries: Peter Waterman 0419 260 827 [email protected]
Program Enquiries: iAwards Team 1300 665 145 [email protected]

Contact Profile

the iAwards

Over 18 years, the iAwards has become the premier technology awards in Australia delivering the most comprehensive awards program in the technology industry today. Since 2011 the iAwards are open to both the companies and leading professionals at the cutting edge of technology innovation. The iAwards are judged by industry, for industry and provide achievements with public recognition across industry, government, community and beyond. They are strongly focused on promoting essential relationships between the ICT industry and vertical business sectors to promote the value of our industry.

About the ACS

The Australian Computer Society (ACS) is the recognised professional association for those working in Information and Communications Technology, seeking to raise the standing of ICT professionals and represent their views to government, industry and the community. A member of the Australian Council of Professions, the ACS is the guardian of professional ethics and standards in the ICT sector, committed to ensuring the beneficial use of ICT for all Australians. It provides both members and non-members with opportunities for professional education, networking and certification, as well as enabling them to contribute to the development of their profession.

About AIIA

The Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) is the nation’s peak industry body for the technology sector. AIIA sets the strategic direction of the industry, influences public policy and provides members with productivity tools, advisory services and market intelligence to accelerate their business growth. AIIA member organisations account for approximately half of the 426,100 people employed in ICT occupations and almost $20 billion in annual revenue for Australia. Our members are made up of small, medium, national and multi-national companies whose experience is global as well as spanning all states and territories.

About the Pearcey Foundation

Founded in 1998 in memory of Dr Trevor Pearcey, who built Australia’s first and the world’s fourth programmable electronic digital computer, CSIRAC, in Sydney in 1949, the foundation is a group of concerned individuals fostering the aims and achievements of the Australian ICT industry. Celebrating its 62nd anniversary this year, CSIRAC is the oldest surviving computer in the world. The Pearcey Foundation’s objective is to reinforce the recognition, knowledge and appreciation of Australia’s ongoing contribution to the development and growth of our ICT professions, research and industry. For more information on the Pearcey Foundation please visit


The Asia Pacific ICT Awards (APICTA) is an international awards program that aims to increase ICT awareness in the community and assist in bridging the digital divide. By providing networking and product benchmarking opportunities to ICT innovators and entrepreneurs in the region, the program is designed to stimulate ICT innovation and creativity, promote economic and trade relations and facilitate technology transfer. Participants of the awards program comprise members of the APICTA Alliance guided by the Framework of Cooperation identifying how member-economies can work together in support of the Awards Program as well as other programs that foster development and growth of the ICT industry in the region. Australia has enjoyed great success at the APICTA Awards in recent years.
Peter Waterman
P: 0419 260 827


IT awards, Australian awards, AIIA, iawards



More Formats

View QR Code