Tuesday, June 26th, 2012
Supreme Court Justice the Hon. Chris Kourakis has become the sixth successive University of Adelaide Law graduate to be appointed Chief Justice of South Australia.

Justice Kourakis will be the ninth Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of South Australia, filling the vacancy created by last week’s retirement of the Hon. Chief Justice John Doyle.

Justice Kourakis was educated at Port Lincoln High School and the University of Adelaide (LL B, 1981) before being admitted to legal practice in 1982. He began his career at the Legal Services Commission and joined the bar in 1989. Justice Kourakis was President of the Law Society in 2001-02 and is a former Solicitor-General, holding that position for five years before being appointed to the Supreme Court in 2008.

Since Federation, each Chief Justice of South Australia has been a University of Adelaide Law graduate.

"It is immensely satisfying to see the new Chief Justice, Chris Kourakis QC, continuing the tradition of University of Adelaide alumni leading the Supreme Court bench since Federation (1901)," says the Dean of the University of Adelaide Law School, Professor John Williams.

"The new Chief Justice has a fine reputation as both a legal practitioner and jurist. No doubt he will continue to explore innovations to the judicial system in this State, following the outstanding example set by former Chief Justice John Doyle AC QC. I am sure he will bring a fresh perspective and serve with great energy and distinction.

"The new Chief Justice is a much-respected member of the University of Adelaide’s Law School Advisory Board and has a longstanding interest in legal education. His own background underpins a genuine empathy for access and participation initiatives, which resonates strongly with the Adelaide Law School ethos.

"We wish the new Chief Justice every success with his new role and look forward to continuing his connection with the Adelaide Law School."

The State Government has also made eight other judicial appointments, with the positions all going to University of Adelaide Law graduates:

• Judge Kevin Nicholson has been appointed to the Supreme Court;
• Chief Magistrate Elizabeth Bolton will become a District Court judge;
• Geraldine Davison SC, Paul Muscat SC and Paul Slattery QC have all been appointed judges of the District Court;
• David McLeod, Phillip Broderick and Nick Alexandrides have all been appointed Magistrates.

For more information about past South Australian Chief Justices, see the book First Among Equals by University of Adelaide history and law academic Dr John Emerson:

Contact Profile

Kate Husband, Communications Manager, The University of Adelaide

P: 08 8313 0814
M: 0451 630 969
W: www.adelaide.edu.au/press/barrsmith/


Supreme Court Justice the Hon. Chris Kourakis



More Formats

View QR Code