Saturday, May 12th, 2012
The Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Senator Stephen Conroy, has announced that a further eleven Australian local councils are now eligible to apply for funding under the Australian Government’s Digital Local Government Program.

The Digital Local Government program makes up to $375,000 (excluding GST) available to local councils so they can fully benefit from the rollout of the National Broadband Network (NBN). The program will assist these councils deliver projects to improve online council services, particularly to homes and businesses.

“The fast, affordable broadband provided through the NBN enables local governments to better put the needs of residents and businesses at the very heart of their service delivery,” Senator Conroy said.

“The eleven eligible councils are located right around Australia – from Mandurah in Western Australia to Aspley in Queensland and Bellerive in Tasmania. I encourage all of them to take up the opportunity to use the NBN to improve delivery of essential council services to their communities,” Senator Conroy said.

Councils already accessing the program’s funding under rounds one and two will use the NBN to benefit their communities. For example, the City of Onkaparinga in South Australia will use the NBN to improve its development application assessment process. Residents will be able to use high-definition videoconferencing to engage with council officers on development proposals, reducing the need to often travel large distances to attend face-to-face meetings.

Councils eligible for round three funding have been selected based on the fibre footprint maps released by NBN Co as at 2 May 2012. They are required to notify the Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy by 5 July 2012 of their intention to participate in the program.

The remaining councils eligible to apply for funding will be announced when the next fibre footprint maps are released by NBN Co. The number of premises each council has within the NBN footprint map is a key eligibility criteria.

Further information about the Digital Local Government program, including the eligibility criteria, is available on the Department’s website at

Contact Profile


RSP, ISP, NBN, National Broadband Network



More Formats

View QR Code