Sunday, August 14th, 2011

The Australian Computer Society, the Australian Information Industry Association, and the Pearcey Foundation last night announced the national winners of Australia’s premier technology awards program, the 2011 iAwards.

In the biggest field of the program’s 17 year history, winners were announced in four individual categories, 16 company categories and two distinguished achievement awards: the Tony Benson Entrepreneur Award and the Pearcey Medal for lifetime achievement in ICT.

Speaking at the NBN launch in Brunswick on 4 August, Prime Minister Julia Gillard said “It is fitting to also acknowledge that today the iAwards are being held, which recognise Australia’s best digital innovators. These creative firms and individuals understand what the NBN means: we deliver the hardware, they deliver the ideas.”

“ICT innovation from technology professionals and companies across the country will drive productivity growth and community cohesion into the future,” said Chair of the 2011 iAwards Committee, Ian Birks. “These are the ideas that will allow the Australian business community – regardless of region or geography – to compete on the world stage.”

This year’s winners included Brand Hoff, founder and former CEO of Tower Software, whose lifetime achievement in the technology industry was recognised with the prestigious Pearcey Medal.

Winner of the Tony Benson Entrepreneur Award were the now legendary brothers Lars and Jens Rasmussen, recognised for their work on the creation of Google Maps at Google Australia.

CIO of the Year honours went to Michael Harte, of the Commonwealth Bank.

Each winner of the company category awards went into consideration for the Inspiration iAward – representing the most outstanding innovators within the industry this year. The Australian eHealth and Research Centre took out the premier company award this year for a system designed to diagnose eye disease and bring specialist eye-care to communities in rural and remote Australia.

Now in its 17th year, the iAwards have continued to expand alongside growing recognition of the role that technology will play in the future of Australia. The awards were announced at a gala dinner in Melbourne attended by industry leaders, the Governor of Victoria and Senator Stephen Conroy, among other guests.



“Australia’s prosperity increasingly depends on the skills of our ICT professionals. It is great that we have some of the most talented individuals in the world as reflected clearly in the calibre and stature of winners in iAwards this year. These winners stand as an inspiration to the next generation of ICT practitioners and demonstrate just what ICT professionals can achieve.”

- ACS President Anthony Wong MACS CP

“The companies recognised through the iAwards represent the future of the digital economy in Australia. They are the ones that will drive productivity growth in each area of the national economy and take small business and regional Australia into the national marketplace.”

- AIIA CEO Suzanne Campbell

“2011 Pearcey Medal winner Brand Hoff has been an outstanding business leader and exemplar entrepreneur for the whole of his career. His pioneering efforts in Document Management Systems positioned Australia as the world’s leader in the creation and use of this now pervasive technology. It is the individual efforts of people like Mr Hoff that exemplify how Australia can successfully innovate and improves its productivity.”

- Dr Ian Oppermann, Director ICT Centre at CSIRO

“Lars and Jens Rasmussen – founders of Google Maps and winners of this year’s Tony Benson Entrepreneur Award – are exceptional examples of just how well the Australian industry performs on the world stage. They literally put us on the map.”

- Pearcey Foundation Chair Wayne Fitzsimmons

iAwards Winners:  Visit

Contact Profile


The Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) is the nation’s peak industry body for the technology sector. AIIA sets the strategic direction of the industry, influences public policy and provides members with productivity tools, advisory services and market intelligence to accelerate their business growth. AIIA member companies employ 100,000 Australians, generate combined annual revenues of more than $40 billion and export more than $2 billion in goods and services each year. Visit

About the ACS

The ACS (Australian Computer Society) is the recognised professional association for those working in Information and Communications Technology, seeking to raise the standing of ICT professionals and represent their views to government, industry and the community. A member of the Australian Council of Professions, the ACS is the guardian of professional ethics and standards in the ICT sector, committed to ensuring the beneficial use of ICT for all Australians. It provides both members and non-members with opportunities for professional education, networking and certification, as well as enabling them to contribute to the development of their profession. Visit for more information.

About the Pearcey Foundation

Founded in 1998 in memory of Dr Trevor Pearcey, who built Australia’s first and the world’s fourth programmable electronic digital computer, CSIRAC, in Sydney in 1949, the foundation is a group of concerned individuals fostering the aims and achievements of the Australian ICT industry. Celebrating its 62nd anniversary this year, CSIRAC is the oldest surviving computer in the world. The Pearcey Foundation’s objective is to reinforce the recognition, knowledge and appreciation of Australia’s ongoing contribution to the development and growth of our ICT professions, research and industry. For more information on the Pearcey Foundation please visit

About the iAwards

Over 17 years, the iAwards has become the premier technology awards platform in Australia delivering the most comprehensive awards program in the technology industry today. From 2011 the iAwards are open to both the companies at the cutting edge technology innovation as well as leading professionals across the industry. The iAwards are judged by industry, for industry and provide achievements with public recognition that extends across the ICT sector to government, community and beyond. They are strongly focused on promoting essential relationships between the ICT industry and vertical business sectors in every field to promote the value of our industry where it counts most. More information


The Asia Pacific ICT Awards (APICTA) is an international awards program that aims to increase ICT awareness in the community and assist in bridging the digital divide. By providing networking and product benchmarking opportunities to ICT innovators and entrepreneurs in the region, the program is designed to stimulate ICT innovation and creativity, promote economic and trade relations and facilitate technology transfer. Participants of the awards program comprise members of the APICTA Alliance guided by the Framework of Cooperation identifying how member-economies can work together in support of the Awards Program as well as other programs that foster development and growth of the ICT industry in the region. Australia has enjoyed phenomenal success at the APICTA Awards in recent years. And as the only truly international ICT awards in Australia, company winners of the 2011 iAwards will have the opportunity to compete with businesses from across the Asia Pacific region at the 2011 Asia Pacific ICT Alliance Awards in Thailand. Find out more online

Rhett Somers, Communication Manager, Australian Information Industry Association
P: 02 6281 9413


iawards, Australian IT



More Formats

View QR Code